A Single Matchstick

photo@pexels.com

I’m trying to light up the candle
cause I broke my chandelier.
Would you pass me the chalice,
I got pain and mistakes to bear.
Dear lord help me, cause I need to care.
The desires I fulfill,
they turned into a dare,
the demons you gave me,
they turned on me while playing.
I am low on power,
my engines could shut down,
and the system is hacked,
I am falling back,
to a manual override.
A push and a shove might lead to self-destruct,
but money and a woman,
I choose whoever lasts.
Love and freedom,
I’d keep the latter.

I ride and die and I protect my crown,
even though
a fight in a flight is a tight risk.
I pat my demons down every night to sleep,
and in my dreams I am rich,
But I burnt a church and congregants with a single matchstick.

Emotionless and scared in the dark,
I was young and learning,
new to the water like a duck.
I held on to the feeling,
imagination still haunting,
Rolled up in a wrap and
I trembled to my core.
Amphibians and reptiles,
Disgust that never dies,
I am worried I can’t fly,
and I’m weary of all these lies.

photo@pexels.com

So, tell me,
tell me what is life when we are heartless,
what is love when we lose ourselves?
Tell me what the world thinks,
when you’re down and broken.
what is sin, when you’re trying to protect your self?
Tell me,
tell me what would happen, if we just let us be,
what happens, when we’re indefinitely free?
What happens when you strike a single matchstick?

I get lost in the light,
dazzle is my guess,
judgement be my guest.
Everything that happened and
everything I did,
you can just call it selfish,
the devil thinks it a sin,
and unto my motives I confess,
I lost my way like a wayward lamb.

I grew up off the digests
and shuffling through them pages.
Connections and impact,
knowledge’s an impasse,
and I act on impulse.
So we can sing us dirges and
confessions in churches,
or we can choose to live a life deep in dances.
Forgetting the regrets,
mistakes and habits,
I’m trying to build independence,
and to represent a generation.

photo@pexels.com

I’m a single matchstick, the box my origin.
I lack the mundane cause I’m backed with powerful genes.
You may not get what I feel, you don’t have to but its real,
and if life is a thing, it must have to do with the gin.
My wings are weak no more, I can fly above the din.
I taste my mis-steps, the sky is what I feel,
like I zoned out in the blue,
and now I live.

Leave a comment